Return to Headlines

Twelve FCS Students Named 2022 National Merit Scholarship Winners

Posted 6/16/2022

National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced over 2,600 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the Finalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

High school juniors entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program when they took the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen for program entrants. Semifinalists were the highest-scoring program entrants in each state and represented less than one percent of the nation's seniors.

To compete for Merit Scholarship awards, Semifinalists first had to advance to the Finalist level of the competition by fulfilling additional requirements. Each Semifinalist was asked to submit a detailed scholarship application, which included writing an essay and providing information about extracurricular activities, awards, and leadership positions. Semifinalists also had to have an outstanding academic record, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, and earn SAT® or ACT® scores that confirmed the qualifying test performance. Over 15,000 met the requirements for Finalist standing from the Semifinalist group, and about half of the Finalists will be Merit Scholarship winners in 2022. The list of the twelve 2022 National Merit Scholarship winners from Fulton County Schools is below.

Twelve FCS Students Named 2022 National Merit Scholarship Winners



Alpharetta High School
Samuel A. Risner

Cambridge High School
Zachary W. Rose

Chattahoochee High School
Shruti Nemala
Nicole J. Jhun
Rahul Peddu
Erin Suh

Milton High School
Luke C. Ortwein
Andrew A. Vlasenko

Northview High School
Shana Lee
Raul S. Sankhe
Srikent Siruvella

Riverwood International Charter School
Alexander M. Krachman