Return to Headlines

Debate Tournament

This past weekend, Hopewell hosted the February AUDL tournament. Our mustangs out-performed several other schools. Atharv Joshi, Arnav Joshi, and Poorvie Hegde all won speaker awards in the Junior Varsity division. In the novice division, we also had several more debaters receive speaker awards. Ranga Maruthchalam, Mahati Selvakumar, Musa Nisar, Mylon Sriganeshan, Aaron Sriganeshan, Amaar Madni were some of the winners.  Farrah Swart, Samiksha Somasundaran and Kaylee Ojonah received 1st through third place respectively. But it doesn’t stop there. The team of Atharv Joshi and Arnav Joshi placed 4th in the Junior Varsity team awards. For the novice team awards, the following teams all placed in the top 9: Samiksha Somasundraran and Kuvira Gavirini, Aaron Srineshan and Mylon Srineshan, Omar Awad and Musa Nisar, and Avi Saxena and Zubin Jacob.  Lastly, the team as a whole took first place in the tournament! Congratulations to all debaters for an outstanding performance.