Return to Headlines

Board Meeting Recognitions: September 15 & 19, 2019

 NOTE - The Fulton County Board of Education is proud to recognize the achievements of FCS schools, students, and staff at our monthly meetings. A portion of the remarks from a recent board meeting have been transcribed here. 



FBLA National Award


FBLA National Award

Seventh grader Ronak Vyas of Webb Bridge Middle School placed first at the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) National Leadership Conference in San Antonio, TX. The non-profit organization is committed to help students prepare for the business world.

With the oversight of FBLA Advisor Cathy Oravetz, Ronak competed in the Intro to Computer Science and Coding category. He completed a rigorous 30-minute test using SQL and HTML languages, in just 20 minutes.  He was Webb Bridge’s first representative to the FBLA national competition.



Governor’s Shape Honor Roll Shape Honor Roll South


Governor’s Shape Honor Roll

Seventeen FCS schools were named on the 2019 Governor’s Shape Honor Roll. This designation recognizes schools for their dedication to creating a healthy school environment and a culture of wellness for staff, students and community. There were four levels of achievement, and all four learning communities in the district are represented.


Platinum Level:

  • Hembree Springs Elementary School
  • High Point Elementary School
  • Lake Windward Elementary School
  • Northwood Elementary School
  • River Eves Elementary School, and 
  • State Bridge Crossing Elementary School.
  • Gold Level:
  • Birmingham Falls Elementary School
  • Findley Oaks Elementary School
  • Holcomb Bridge Middle School.
  • Stonewall Tell Elementary School


Silver Level:

  • Evoline C. West Elementary School
  • Hillside Elementary School
  • Hopewell Middle School and 
  • River Trail Middle School.
  • Wilson Creek Elementary School


Bronze Level: 

  • Abbotts Hill Elementary School



OMC/FMC Certifications OMC South


OMC/FMC Certifications

The Professional Learning and Leadership Development Department is excited to announce that 43 staff members throughout the district received a 2019 Certificate of Completion for the Office Management Certification and Financial Management Certification programs. 

These employees represent the third cohort to complete the programs. Throughout the 24-month programs, employees attended two to seven hours of professional learning courses each month. Both programs consist of online and face-to-face learning opportunities focused on Fulton’s policies and procedures.

True to Fulton’s Strategic Plan, these programs highlight Fulton’s investment in People and Culture as employees are given the opportunity to enhance current job skills and acquire new ones.

Many positive outcomes have been reported from the two programs such as improved technical professional abilities, networking with colleagues, skill-building for career advancement, and more.

  • Jennifer Arnold
  • Melissa Bacile
  • Linda Brooks
  • Shannon Brown
  • Brandi Casey
  • Thyneatha Coleman
  • Shari Cooper
  • Norma Escalera-Smith
  • Tonique Frasier
  • Delia Gamboa
  • Julia Grimaldo
  • Jessica Harris
  • Lisa Hawks
  • Betsy Hedger
  • Corinthia Hill
  • Sara Holland
  • Sha-Mena Jackson
  • Zortavia Jennings
  • Jolanta Kiker
  • Candice Kindell
  • Tricia Kopec
  • Darlene Lemcoe
  • Carol Matthieson
  • Tania Muñiz
  • Christine Olateru
  • Jaime Potts
  • Charetta Rhymer
  • Dolores Shamis
  • Tami Walton
  • Kristin Weger
  • Katherine Wickliffe
  • Carole Yacovella
  • Colleen Zeller 
  • LaVita Walker
  • Sophia WSalker
  • Betty Weekley
  • Sandra Wright
  • Ana Ceballos
  • Darlene Croal-Manuel
  • Sylvia Davis-Martin
  • India Lyons
  • Jacqueline Robinson
  • Dara Slaughter