Return to Headlines

FCS is one of six in the nation recognized for school budgeting

The Budget Services Department of Fulton County Schools (FCS) has been honored with the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) Award for Best Practices in School Budgeting for fiscal year 2017-2018.

The award goes to school systems demonstrating budget process excellence that best aligns resources with student achievement goals, part of GFOA’s nationally recognized standard of criteria. This is the highest level of recognition in the area of school budgeting, and the Budget Services Department is one of just six school districts in the nation to win this award under the leadership of Budget Services Director Tracy Watson.

In addition, the award includes criteria for using continuous improvement approaches to monitor outcomes. It encompasses a complete cycle for long-term financial planning and budgeting, which includes preparations to undertake the budget process, the development of a budget and evaluation of how the budget process worked with appropriate adjustments.

“We are pleased that the Government Finance Officers Association has recognized our budgeting process that focuses the use of our precious resources toward student achievement,” said FCS Chief Financial Officer Robert Morales.

FCS Board President Linda Bryant also praised the department for its work. “The Board of Education is so proud of the quality of our Budget Services Department,” she said. “This award clearly demonstrates the district finance division’s excellence in strategic planning and commitment to sound fiscal management.”


FCS Budget Services Department

First row: Celebrating national recognition are FCS Budget Services team member Chanel Mason, Chief Financial Officer Robert Morales, team member Olga Etris, Budget Services Director Tracy Watson, team members Jennifer Banks, Tiffany Gleaton, Dawn Pinckney and Danica Daniels.

Second row: Board Members Katie Reeves and Katha Stuart, Interim Superintendent Dr. Cindy Loe, Chief Academic Officer Cliff Jones, team member Ray White, Deputy Chief Financial Officer Marvin Dereef, Board President Linda Bryant, Board Member Kimberly Dove, Board Vice President Julia Bernath, and Board Members Gail Dean and Linda McCain.