Value Added Flexibility Waivers for Public Comment

  • AHS has applied for 8 total VAF to Fulton County Schools.

    Value-Added Flexibilities (VAF) are AHS requests for local and state policy waivers that strategically support planning efforts by adding value for defined stakeholder groups.  As a Charter System, Fulton County Schools is afforded flexibility around State Board Rules and the educational laws outlined in Title 20.The VAF process is meant to provide school communities with opportunities to overcome barriers to student success by granting them the freedom to implement innovative solutions tailored to their local needs.

    AHS SGC is proud of past flexibilities we have been able to achieve to meet the needs of our academic community. Part of this process is to have PUBLIC COMMENT.  Please take a moment to review each VAF request and submit your public Comment no later than October 16th. Questions, please contact the SGC.

    Comments (-1)
  • Value Added Flexibility Title
    (click on the title below to view the VAF)

    Strategic Plan Focus Area

    Blended Learning Course

    Student Achievement

    PE Opt-in Universal Waiver

    Student Achievement

    Virtual Study Skills Course

    Student Achievement

    People and Culture

    Late Start Wednesday

    Student Achievement

    People and Culture

    Community Collaboration

    IB Science Course

    Student Achievement

    English Language Arts 9/10 Grading Policy Waiver

    Student Achievement

    Theory of Knowledge

    Student Achievement

    People and Culture

    Off Campus Privilege

    Student Achievement

    People and Culture

    Comments (-1)
  • VAF Submission

    Comments (-1)

SGC Overview

  • The purpose of the School Governance Council is to provide parents, school staff, and community members with a leadership role in the management of the school. The School Governance Council is a governing body that is representative of the community and the school, but operates under the control and management of the Board of Education. The Council is responsible for making decisions regarding the strategic direction of the school including:

    • Approve the school strategic plan and updates
    • Approve the annual budget and annual resource allocations
    • Manage the Request for Flexibility process
    • Participate in hiring the principal (in the case of a vacancy)
    • Provide annual feedback on principal performance.

Council Members

  • Dr. Shannon Kersey - Principal

  • Andrew Bolin

  • Michelle Hinton, Vice-Chair

  • Yasmine McKenzie

  • Victoria (Libby) Myers

  • Mike Scheifflee

  • Shari Schwalbe

  • Julia Williams, Parliamentarian

  • Jay Wiley

  • Martine Zurinskas, Chair

  • Kaedin Alvarez

  • Austin Huang

  • James Jones

  • Meri Mazurik

We want to hear from you!
  • We welcome your comments!

    Please follow this link to submit a general comment or question to the School Governance Council.

    Link for General Comment

Approved VAF Documents

Personal Fitness Course Alternatives

Meeting Dates

  • Click HERE to view meeting agendas.

    2021-2022 SGC Meeting Dates
    All meetings are 7:35am - 8:20am, unless otherwise specified.

    • Friday, August 6, 2021 ✔
    • Tuesday, August 24, 2021 ✔
    • Tuesday, September 14, 2021 ✔
    • Tuesday, October 5, 2021
    • Tuesday, November 9, 2021
    • Tuesday, December 7, 2021

    Public Comment Meetings


    Mark your calendar!

    Next Meeting:

    Date: Tuesday, October 5, 2021

    Time: 7:35am-8:20am

    Public Link:

    • If you wish to participate in public comment, please email Martine Zurinskas (SGC Chair) at to be added to the agenda at least 24 hours prior to the start of the meeting.”

Meeting Location

  • All SGC Meetings will be held via Microsoft Teams until further notice. Please use the link above to join the SGC meeting on the specified date and time.

SGC Officers & Committees

  • SGC Officers

    Shannon Kersey, Principal
    Martine Zurinskas, Chair

    Michelle Hinton, Vice-Chair
    Julia Williams, Parliamentarian

    Budget and Finance Committee

    Mike Scheifflee, Chair
    Michelle Hinton
    Tanoni Houston, AHS Bookkeeper
    Austin Huang
    Shannon Kersey

    Meri Mazurik
    Jay Wiley

    Outreach and Communications Committee

    Andrew Bolin, Chair
    Kaedin Alvarez
    James Jones
    Yasmine McKenzie
    Victoria Myers
    Shari Schwalbe
    Julia Williams

    Principal Selection Committee

    Martine Zurinskas, Chair
    Andrew Bolin
    Michelle Hinton
    Shari Schwalbe
    Julia Williams

    Superintendent Parent Council


    Superintendent Student Council

    Austin Huang
    Meri Mazurik