SGC Overview

  • The purpose of the School Governance Council is to provide parents, school staff, and community members with a leadership role in the management of the school. The School Governance Council is a governing body that is representative of the community and the school, but operates under the control and management of the Board of Education. The Council is responsible for making decisions regarding the strategic direction of the school including:

    • Approve the school strategic plan and updates
    • Approve the annual budget and annual resource allocations
    • Manage the Request for Flexibility process
    • Participate in hiring the principal (in the case of a vacancy)
    • Provide annual feedback on principal performance.
If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.

Council Members

  • Ms. Brooke Scharfstein

  • Ms. Anne Hamilton

  • Ms. Leslie Williams

  • Ms. Selena Rosario

  • Ms. Nicole Capps

  • Ms. Saiesha Sylvester

  • Ms. Jessica Vargas

  • Ms. Courtney Walton

Meeting Dates

  •  All meetings are held alternating at 7:00am & 3:00pm unless otherwise noted

    August 31st 

    September 30th 

Meeting Location

  • All SGC Meetings are held in the front office conference room unless otherwise noted.

SGC Officers & Committees


    Budget and Finance Committee


    Ms. Williams

    Ms. Walton

    Ms. Hamilton

    Ms. Sylvester


    Outreach and Communications Committee

    Ms. Rosario

    Ms. Capps

    Ms. Vargas


    Principal Selection Committee

    Ms. Rosario

    Ms. Capps

    Ms. Vargas