SGC Overview

  • The purpose of the School Governance Council is to provide parents, school staff, and community members with a leadership role in the management of the school. The School Governance Council is a governing body that is representative of the community and the school, but operates under the control and management of the Board of Education. The Council is responsible for making decisions regarding the strategic direction of the school including:

    • Approve the school strategic plan and updates
    • Approve the annual budget and annual resource allocations
    • Manage the Request for Flexibility process
    • Participate in hiring the principal (in the case of a vacancy)
    • Provide annual feedback on principal performance.

    School Governance Council Handbook 

Bear Crossing: A Community Conversation

  • Visit our Bear Crossing: A Community Conversation website for our new podcast featuring some of your favorite Barnwell staff discussing topics that pertain to our Barnwell community. We are working on a new website with attached blog for parents to read or listen and provide input on future conversations. In the meantime, if you have suggestions for future conversations please provide them here




Council Members

Meeting Dates


    School Governance Council 

    2020-2021 Meetings/Agendas

    August 7, 2020 @ 8:00 AM (TEAMS)

    September 11, 2020 @ 2:45 PM (TEAMS)

    October 9, 2020 @ 2:45 PM (TEAMS)

    November 16, 2020 @ 3:00 PM (TEAMS)

    December 14, 2020 @ 3:00 PM (TEAMS)

    January 25, 2021 @ 3:00 PM (TEAMS)

    February 22, 2021 @ 3:00 PM (TEAMS)

    March 29, 2021 @ 3:00 PM (TEAMS)

    May 10, 2021 @ 3:00 PM (TEAMS)


    Public Comment Meetings

Meeting Location

  • All SGC Meetings for 2020-2021 will be held on TEAMS.

SGC Officers & Committees


    Budget and Finance Committee

    Nik Volkov- Chair

    Jessica Nelson

    Breana Rounds

    Tomario Rowe

    Martin Neuhaus - (Non-voting member)

    Outreach and Communications Committee

    Karla Lazzari - Chair

    Donald Albright

    Stephanie Beckles

    Kristy Dell'Orto

    Allison Townsend