SGC Overview

  • The purpose of the School Governance Council is to provide parents, school staff, and community members with a leadership role in the management of the school. The School Governance Council is a governing body that is representative of the community and the school, but operates under the control and management of the Board of Education. The Council is responsible for making decisions regarding the strategic direction of the school including:

    • Approve the school strategic plan and updates
    • Approve the annual budget and annual resource allocations
    • Manage the Request for Flexibility process
    • Participate in hiring the principal (in the case of a vacancy)
    • Provide annual feedback on principal performance.

SGC Officers & Committees

  • Council Members
    Please contact Council Members below, with issues and/or questions:

    2020-2021 Milton High School SGC Members 

    Name Position E-mail Term Ends
    Brian Jones Principal

    JonesBC@fultonschools.org

     
    Tara Spolan Elected Parent
    (Chairperson)

    SpolanT@fultonschools.org

    06/30/2021
    Gillian Miller Elected Staff
    (Vice Chairperson)
    millerg4@fultonschools.org 06/30/2022
    Rebecca DeWeese​ ​Elected Staff
    (Parliamentarian)
    DeWeese@fultonschools.org 06/30/2021
    Barbara Halbert Community Member

    halbertba@fultonschools.org

    06/30/2021
    ​Tiana Diggs ​Elected Parent

    ​DiggsT@fultonschools.org

    ​06/30/2021
    Jamie Bendall Elected Parent

    Bendallj@fultonschools.org

    06/30/2022
    ​Steven Stromie ​Appointed Staff

    StromieSW@fultonschools.org

    ​06/30/2021
    Lonnie Estes Appointed Staff

    Estesl@fultonschools.org

    06/30/2022
    Linda Coyle Community Member

     coylel@fultonschools.org

    06/30/2022
    Abigail Burnett Student Member

     

    06/30/2021
    Pierce Rossman Student Member

     

    06/30/2021

     

    Budget & Finance Committee: Brian Jones, Barbara Halbert (Chairperson), Rebecca Deweese, Steven Stromie, Tara Spolan, Lonnie Estes

    Outreach & Communications Committee: Brian Jones, Linda Coyle (Chairperson), Jamie Bendall, Tiana Diggs, Gillian Miller

    Principal Selection Committee: Jamie Bendall, Rebecca DeWeese, Barbara Halbert, Tara Spolan

SGC Meeting Dates & Location

  • ​Date ​Time ​Location
    9/08/2020 ​7:15 am ​Virtual
    10/13/2020 7:15 am 1222
    11/10/2020 7:15 am 1222
    12/08/2020 7:15 am 1222
    1/12/2021 7:15 am 1222
    2/09/2021 7:15 am 1222
    3/09/2021 7:15 am 1222
    4/13/2021 7:15 am 1222
    5/11/2021 7:15 am 1222