SGC Overview

  • The purpose of the School Governance Council is to provide parents, school staff, and community members with a leadership role in the management of the school. The School Governance Council is a governing body that is representative of the community and the school, but operates under the control and management of the Board of Education. The Council is responsible for making decisions regarding the strategic direction of the school including:

    • Approve the school strategic plan and updates
    • Approve the annual budget and annual resource allocations
    • Manage the Request for Flexibility process
    • Participate in hiring the principal (in the case of a vacancy)
    • Provide annual feedback on principal performance.
  • SCHOOL GOVERNANCE COUNCIL MEMBERS 2019-2020

    Name/Position ​Email Address Committee Position ​Term
    Membership

    Jennifer Burton

    Principal

    burtonjw@fultonschools.org

    ​Principal ​N/A
    N/A

    ​Kimberly Henderson

    Parliamentarian 

    Parent

    hendersonk6@fultonschools.org

    Parliamentarian 

    Parent

     

    2020: Elected

    6/30/2022: End

    Tunisia Thorne
    Community Member
    thornet@fultonschools.org

    ​Community Member

    2020: Elected

    6/30/2021: End

    ​Anatavia Benson
    Parent

    SGC Chair

    ​bensona1@fultonschools.org

    ​Parent

    SCG Chair

    2019: Elected

    6/30/2021: End

    Ayanna Demery

    Teacher

    Budget/Finance Chair

    demery@fultonschools.org

    Teacher

    Budget/Finance Chair

    2021: Elected

    6/30/2021: End 

    ​Chelsea Brinson

    Teacher 


    Outreach/Communication Vice Chair

    brinsonc@fultonschools.org

    Teacher 


    Outreach/Communication Vice Chair

    2020: Elected​

    6/30/2022: End

    ​Vanessa Baker

    School Employee 


    Outreach/Communication

    bakerv@fultonschools.org

    School Employee 


    Outreach/Communication

    2021: Appointed

    6/30/2021: End

    ​Deneatrice Harrison
    Budget/Finance Vice Chair

    School Employee

    harrisond@fultonschools.org

    ​Budget/Finance Vice Chair

    School Employee

    ​2020: Appointed

    6/30/2021: End

    Country Kyles

    Community Member

     

    Community Member

    2021: Elected

    6/30/2021: End 

           
           

SGC Meeting Dates

  • 2020-2021
    ​MEETING DATES & LOCATIONS

    All meetings will be held via Microsoft TEAMS at 5PM.

    July 21, 2020

    September 22, 2020

    November 17, 2020

    January 26, 2021

    February 16, 2021

    March 23, 2021

    May 11, 2021