SGC Overview

  • The purpose of the School Governance Council is to provide parents, school staff, and community members with a leadership role in the management of the school. The School Governance Council is a governing body that is representative of the community and the school, but operates under the control and management of the Board of Education. The Council is responsible for making decisions regarding the strategic direction of the school including:

    • Approve the school strategic plan and updates
    • Approve the annual budget and annual resource allocations
    • Manage the Request for Flexibility process
    • Participate in hiring the principal (in the case of a vacancy)
    • Provide annual feedback on principal performance.
  • SCHOOL GOVERNANCE COUNCIL MEMBERS 2019-2020

    Name/Position ​Email Address Committee Position ​Term
    Membership
    Jennifer Burton

    burtonjw@fultonschools.org

    ​Principal ​N/A
    N/A
    ​Kimberly Henderson
    SGC Chair
    Principal Selection
    Vice Chair
    hendersonk6@fultonschools.org

    Parent

    Guardian

    2020: Elected

    6/30/2020: End

    Tunisia Thorne
    SGC Vice Chair
    Principal Selection
    Chair
    thornet@fultonschools.org

    ​Community

    Member

    2020: Elected

    6/30/2021: End

    ​Anatavia Benson
    Parliamentarian
    Outreach & Communication
    Committee Member
    ​bensona1@fultonschools.org

    ​Parent

    Guardian

    2019: Elected

    6/30/2021: End

    Ayanna Demery
    Budget/Finance
    Chair
    demery@fultonschools.org Teacher

    2021: Elected

    6/30/2021: End 

    ​Chelsea Brinson
    Outreach/Communication
    Vice Chair
    brinsonc@fultonschools.org ​Teacher

    2020: Elected​

    6/30/2020: End

    ​Vanessa Baker
    Outreach/Communication
    bakerv@fultonschools.org ​School Employee

    2021: Appointed

    6/30/2021: End

    ​Deneatrice Harrison
    Budget/Finance
    Vice Chair
    harrisond@fultonschools.org

    ​School

    Employee

    ​2020: Appointed

    6/30/2020: End

    Sanjuan Lindsey LindseyS@fultonschools.org

    Community

    Member

    2021: Elected

    6/30/2020: End 

           
           

SGC Meeting Dates

  • 2020-2021
    ​MEETING DATES & LOCATIONS

    All meetings will be held via Microsoft TEAMS at 5PM.

    July 21, 2020

    September 22, 2020

    November 17, 2020

    January 26, 2021

    February 16, 2021

    March 23, 2021

    May 11, 2021