SGC Overview

  • The purpose of the School Governance Council is to provide parents, school staff, and community members with a leadership role in the management of the school. The School Governance Council is a governing body that is representative of the community and the school, but operates under the control and management of the Board of Education. The Council is responsible for making decisions regarding the strategic direction of the school including:

    • Approve the school strategic plan and updates
    • Approve the annual budget and annual resource allocations
    • Manage the Request for Flexibility process
    • Participate in hiring the principal (in the case of a vacancy)
    • Provide annual feedback on principal performance.

Meeting Dates

  • Meeting Dates: 2023 - 2024

    All meetings are at 7:45 AM.

    Friday, August 11, 2023, 7:45 AM, Room 114

    Friday, September 8, 2023, 7:45 AM, Room 114

    Friday, October 20, 2023, 7:30 AM, Room 114

    Friday,  November 10, 2023, 7:45 AM, Room 114

    Friday, December 8, 2023, 7:30 AM, Room 114

    Friday, January 12, 2024, 7:30 AM, Room 114

    Friday, February 9, 2024, 7:30 AM, Room 114

    Friday, March 8, 2024, 7:30 AM, Room 114

    Friday, April 12, 2024, 7:30 AM, Room 114

    Friday, May 10, 2024, 7:30 AM, Room 114

SGC Council Members

Name (Term Ends) Position - Committee Email Address
Kelly Parker Principal - Budget/Finance Committee parkerk@fultonschools.org
Gail Crust - Chairperson (June 30, 2024) Teacher - Budget & Finance Committee (Chair); Principal Selection Committee crustg@fultonschools.org
Heidi Russell - Vice-Chairperson (June 30, 2024) School Member - Budget/Finance Committee, Principal Selection Committee russellh@fultonschools.org
Emily Lavretta - Parliamentarian (June 30, 2024) Parent/Guardian Member- Outreach/Communication Committee; Superintendent's Advisory Council lavrettae@fultonschools.org
Linda Bryant-Butler (June 30, 2025) School Member - Outreach & Communication Committee butlerl@fultonschools.org
Shannon Carey (June 30, 2025) Parent/Guardian Member - Outreach & Communication Committee (Chair), Principal Selection Committee careysh@fultonschools.org
Tommy Thornton - (June 30, 2025) Teacher - Budget & Finance Committee, Principal Selection Committee thorntont3@fultonschools.org
Olugemi Akinboro (June 30, 2025) Community Member - Outreach & Communication Committee akinboro@fultonschools.org
Franca Marsh (June 20, 2024) Parent/Guardian Member -Outreach & Communication Committee marshf1@fultonschools.org
Tiffany McCusker (June 30, 2024) Community Member - Budget & Finance Committee; Superintendent's Advisory Council mccusker@fultonschools.org