•  

    River Trail Middle School offers a wide array of clubs for its students. Our goal is that every student, if they choose, to find a club that suits their needs. Clubs meet at various days and times. Students who are interested in joining a club, must contact the sponsor for more information. Students who are interested in starting a club, please meet Mr. Kirby, the club coordinator in Room E114.

     

     

RTMS Clubs

Club Name Club Info Sponsor Meeting Day and Time Meeting Location Sponsor Email(s)
121 Reach Students are mentored and tutored by high school students Mrs. Roberson Arranged with tutors on as needed basis. Parent/guardian must be present during tutoring session in order to participate. Virtually through Microsoft TEAMS robersons1@fultonschools.org
Academic Team The RTMS Academic Bowl Team competes at the highest level of state competition. The team enters about five Saturday competitions across the metro area and a county championship. Students should check with their coach for meeting times and days. Mr. Lyle, Mrs. Delong, Ms. Schoessler Various days 4:05 PM-5;15 PM lylej@fultonschools.org Delongs@fultonschools.org Schoesslera@fultonschools.org
Art Club A fun and creative club making craft projects and painting. Club limited to 20 students per meeting day Mrs. Pohl, Mrs. Warner 2nd Wednesday of each month 4:05 PM-5:15 PM Art Room warnerjk@fultonschools.org; pohl@fultonschools.org
Chess Club Students gain the skills to enhance thinking and learn sportsmanship through chess. Practice and preparation for tournament play is also emphasized. Mr. Paulk Tuesday E117 paulkpw@fultonschools.org
Chinese YoYo Students can learn about and experience Chinese YoYo. Mrs. Juan Mondays 4:05 PM-5:15 PM A180 juanm@fultonschools.org
Cooking Club Students will prepare simple food dishes while practicing food safety, kitchen safety, range top cooking, and baking. Mrs. Hooper, Mrs. Davenport, Mrs. Hernandez 2nd Tuesday 4:15 pm- 5:15 pm FACS room hooperp@fultonschools.org; davenportl@fultonschools.org; hernandezge@fultonschools.org
Debate Club The Debate Team is a member of the Atlanta Urban Debate League and will compete against other metro schools. Ms. Bane, Ms. J. Smith Mondays. 4:05 PM- 5:15 PM Media Center banec@fultonschools.org; smithjh1@fultonschools.org
Design Thinking Club A club for those students who love to create and design invention. Mrs. Crisp Wednesdays 4:30 pm E115 crispm@fultonschools.org
FBLA Future Business Leaders of America is a new club at RTMS this year for students interested in careers in business. Mr. O. Scott Thu 4:05 PM- 5:15 PM A152 scotto@fultonschools.org
FCA (Fellowship of Christian Athletes) Join your peers for food, fun, and fellowship. Weekly meetings provide an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to our faith through integrity, service, and teamwork. Mrs. Pettit, Ms. Hunt, Mrs. N. Smith Wed 8:00 AM- 8:40 AM F125 pettitm@fultonschools.org; smithn4@fultonschools.org hunth@fultonschools.org
French Club Join other French students in activities designed to explore the French language and cultures around the world. Mme. Wesley 3rd Thursday 4:05 PM- 5:15 PM A177 subramaniamk@fultonschools.org
Harry Potter Club Students meet to participate in magical activities with other Harry Potter fans. Ms. J. Smith, Mrs. Hernandez, Ms. Schoessler 2nd Thursday after school 6th Grade PBL Room smithjh1@fultonschools.org; hernandezge@fultonschools.org; schoesslera@fultonschools.org
Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl A reading club that competes in the Helen Ruffin Reading bowl in February. Mrs. Wise Fri 8:00 AM- 8:40 AM Club will begin meeting in November. Media Center Wiseb@fultonschools.org
Howling Times School newspaper-anyone welcome to join who likes to write about current events, sports, and school activities. Also needed are cartoonists, photographers, and text support staff. Mrs. Vizethann, Mrs. Davenport Friday mornings, virtually on Teams. Microsoft Teams vizethannm@fultonschools.org; davenportl@fultonschools.org
Junior Beta Junior Beta is a national organization founded on the principles of service, academics, leadership, and character. Betas must maintain a 90 average, have satisfactory conduct, and are asked to provide a minimum of 10 hours of community service each semester. Mrs. DiMaggio Various times and events TBA DiMaggiom@fultonschools.org
Latin Club Students will learn the Latin culture, history, mythology and more. Mrs. Wilson Every other Monday 4:05 PM-5:15PM F117 Wilsonch@fultonschools.org
MathCounts Students will enhance their mathematical problem solving skills. They will work individually and in teams to solve problems. There will be several competitions during the year. Only the top 20 applicants from each grade level will have the honor of being a Mathlete. Mrs. Kothari, Ms. Jackson Thu 8:15 AM-8:40 AM Media Center kotharis@fultonschools.org jacksonk20@fultonschools.org
Media Center Volunteers and Tech Wolves Media Center Volunteers: To help with Check in and check out and shelving books Tech Wolves: Students will help support RTMS staff and students with their surface devices. Mrs. Wise and Mrs. Hahn Everyday 8:15 AM-8:50 AM Media Center wiseb@fultonschools.org Hahnb@fultonschool.org
Recycling Club Students are responsible for managing recycling collection to improve our RTMS community. Ms. J. Smith Wed 8:15 AM-8:40 AM D112 smithjh1@fultonschools.org
RTMS Ambassadors 7th grade students are selected at the end of the year to serve as representatives of RTMS during events like Sneak Peek, Curriculum Night, and 5th grade transition. Ms. Graff Various times and events TBA graffce@fultonschools.org
Science Olympiad Science Olympiad ia a national non-profit organization dedicated to improving science education, increasing student interest in science, creating a technologically literate workforce, and providing recognition for outstanding achievement by students and teachers. Mrs. Rowicki, Mr. J Scott Students need to visit RTMS Rowicki - Science Olympiad Info (google.com) for the links to join the Edmodo group and Email list. TBA rowicki@fultonschools.org scottja@fultonschools.org
Scrabble Students will learn to play Scrabble, which requires strategy, imagination, and math! Mrs. Davenport TBA TBA davenportl@fultonschools.org
Student Government Student representatives are elected in the fall by their peers and work on school improvement projects and programs and are the voices for the students in the School Governance Council. Mr. Liu TBA Orchestra Room liu@fultonschools.org
Tri M The Tri-M Music Honor Society is a nationally recognized academic honor society open to students enrolled in Band, Orchestra or Chorus. The organization focuses on inspiring other students to excel at music, develop strong leaders and promote music awareness and excellence in the community. Mr. Liu TBA Orchestra Room liu@fultonschools.org
WolfCon Anime Club, Dungeons and Dragons, Star Wars, Pokemon Go. Are you interested in Sc-Fi, Fantasy, Anime, Comics, Art, D and D, Gaming? Then this is the club for you. Students learn how to socialize and use creative skills to act out adventure campaigns in a fantasy setting. Mr. Lefert, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Liu, Mr. J. Scott Anime- Wednesday, 4:15-5:15pm Pokemon Go- Wednesdays, 8:15 am-8:45 am Star Wars- Fridays, 8:15 am-8:45 am D&D Mondays and Wednesdays 8:00-8:45am TBA leferth@fultonschools.org; liu@fultonschools.org; lylej@fultonschools.org; scottja@fultonschools.org