Welcome to Fulton County Schools

  • Fulton County Schools (FCS) is the fourth largest school system in Georgia with more than 10,900 full- and part-time employees, and more than 6,900 teachers and other certified personnel, who work in 108 schools and administrative and support buildings.

    During the 2021-22 school year, a projected enrollment of 94,400 students will attend classes in 59 elementary schools, 19 middle schools, 19 high schools, 10 start-up charter organizations (some charters have multiple campuses but are considered one school), and 1 full-time virtual school.

    For more information about student demographics and test scores, please see the infographic below.

Our Goal Is...

  • To Prepare ALL Students To Graduate Ready To Pursue and Succeed On Their Chosen Paths.


    Student Achievement Icon


    We ensure that every student is supported according to need and prepared to excel in the classroom and beyond

    People and Culture Icon

    and Culture

    We attract, develop, and retain the best employees to support and foster student achievement

    Community Collaboration Icon


    We engage all stakeholders as active partners in order to create community ownership of our schools

    Fiscal Responsibility Icon


    We manage and protect public funds and assets through efficient and effective use of available resources

FCS "Facts at a Glance" for 2021-22

  • Facts at a Glance

    Download the FCS "Facts at a Glance" Infographic in PDF Format


    2021-2022 FACTS-AT-A-GLANCE



    More than 10,900 Full-time Personnel
    More than   6,900 Certified Personnel (Those who hold Teaching or Administrative Certifications)



    94,400 Students


    59 - Elementary Schools Grades K-5
           (Pre-kindergarten available in some schools)
    19 - Middle Schools Grades 6-8
    19 - High Schools Grades 9-12
           (Includes two open campus high schools)
    10 - Start-up Charter Schools
      1 - Full-time Virtual School



    Black or
    African American
    Pacific Islander
    American Indian



    15% - Talented and Gifted Learners
    15% - ESOL (English to Speakers of Other Languages)
    13% - Special Education
    41% - Economically Disadvantaged



    Georgia Milestones
    Recognizing that Georgia’s educators and students were in the midst of an unprecedented disruption during the COVID-19 pandemic, no state tests – including Georgia Milestones – were administered for the 2019-2020 school year.

    2020 SAT
    - Fulton 1078
    State 1043
    - National 1030

    2020 ACT
    - Fulton 24.4
    - State 21.7
    - National 20.6



    FY21 General Fund Budget:

    FY21 Cost per Student

    FY21 Tax Levy
    Maintenance & Operations - $17.590
    Debt Service - $0
    Total - $17.590

More about Fulton County Schools

  • ​Founded in 1871, the Fulton County School System is one of the oldest and largest school districts in Georgia. With a focus on student achievement and a commitment to continual improvement, Fulton has earned a reputation as a premier school system. This long history of excellence is evidenced by the many state and national honors bestowed on Fulton's schools, staff and students.

    The Fulton County School System is one of the most unique school systems in the nation. Though not Georgia's largest school system in terms of student enrollment, it is, however, one of the largest systems in geographic area. From its southern end in the City of Chattahoochee Hills to its northernmost tip in Johns Creek, the county is more than 70 miles long. What is known as present-day Fulton County was formed by the 1932 consolidation of the former Campbell and Milton counties, making Fulton the size of three counties.

    To add to Fulton's uniqueness, the City of Atlanta has long had its own school system and its own Board of Education. These lay in the center of pre-consolidation Fulton County. During the consolidation, the schools within the former Campbell and Milton counties became part of the Fulton County School System. But the City of Atlanta maintained its separate school system, driving a physical wedge between the newly joined counties. The result is that the Fulton County School System is physically bisected by the City of Atlanta and its school system. While this wedge often leads to references of north Fulton and south Fulton, there is only one Fulton County School System.

    The southern part of Fulton County is comprised of the cities of Chattahoochee Hills, the City of South Fulton, College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Palmetto, South Fulton and Union City. The northern part is home to the cities of Alpharetta, Johns Creek, Milton, Mountain Park, Roswell, and Sandy Springs.

    As the Atlanta metropolitan area has grown, so has the Fulton County School System. Families are attracted to Fulton County because of its consistent and well-deserved reputation as a quality school system. Businesses also establish a foothold in Fulton because employees want to live and work in communities with excellent schools. 

    Involved, active and informed parents and community members contribute greatly to the success of the system. All schools have business partners and local school advisory councils. The system also receives support and additional resources through the Fulton Education Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that enhances the performance and lives of Fulton County students and faculty through innovative programs and recognition activities.