• School Governance Council Election Announcement

    SGC Announcement

    It's SGC elections season again! SGC Elections are a way for parents and teachers who are elected onto the council to have a role in the vision and direction of the school. To declare or learn more about this process, please click here.

    It all starts with elections!

    • Candidate Declaration Window:  February 2 - April 12                                       
    • Voting Window:  April 20 - April 27
  • Congratulations to our 2022 SGC Election Winners

    Selena Rosario


    Jessica Vargas


    Courtney Walton


SGC Overview

  • The purpose of the School Governance Council is to provide parents, school staff, and community members with a leadership role in the management of the school. The School Governance Council is a governing body that is representative of the community and the school, but operates under the control and management of the Board of Education. The Council is responsible for making decisions regarding the strategic direction of the school including:

    • Approve the school strategic plan and updates
    • Approve the annual budget and annual resource allocations
    • Manage the Request for Flexibility process
    • Participate in hiring the principal (in the case of a vacancy)
    • Provide annual feedback on principal performance.

Council Members

  • Ms. Brooke Scharfstein

  • Ms. Anne Hamilton

  • Mr. John Clifton

  • Ms. Leslie Williams

  • Ms. Morgan Havens

  • Ms. Shubha Raj

  • Ms. Juliette McWilliams

  • Ms. Saiesha Sylvester

  • Ms. Ashley Jarc

  • Mrs. Lynda Nicolay

Meeting Dates

  •  All meetings are held from 7:00-8:00am

    August 18th

    September 15th 

    October 20th

    November 17th

    January 26th

    February 23rd

    May 11th

Meeting Location

  • All SGC Meetings are held in the front office conference room unless otherwise noted.

    Meetings will be held via Microsoft Teams until further notice.

SGC Officers & Committees


    Budget and Finance Committee

    Ms. Nicolay-Chair

    Ms. Williams

    Ms. Jarc

    Ms. Havens


    Outreach and Communications Committee

    Ms. Raj- Chair

    Ms. Hamilton

    Ms. Sylvester

    Ms. McWilliams

    Major Clifton


    Principal Selection Committee

    Ms. McWilliams

    Ms. Havens

    Ms. Jarc