Fulton County Schools
You are leaving the Fulton County Schools website. Please select continue to proceed to the requested page or you may close this window to stay on the current page.


Additional Fulton students named National Merit winners

Ten additional Fulton County seniors have been named 2013 National Merit Scholars. Along with the prestigious National Merit Scholar distinction, the students earn $2,500 cash scholarships funded by the National Merit Corp. to use at the college or university of their choice.  

     Alpharetta High School
     Katie J. Zheng

     Centennial High School
     Alec G. Mazzuckelli

     Chattahoochee High School
     Nari Lee

     Johns Creek High School
     Danielle H. Kwon
     Christopher D. Shin

Milton High School
Dhara Patel

North Springs Charter High School
Emily G. Kelly

Northview High School
James M. Dow
Jesun Park

Roswell High School
Erin M. Flynn

Throughout the spring, the National Merit Corp. announces winners of scholarships in several rounds determined by the source funding the awards. In late April, eight students were named finalists for scholarships funded by corporations, and today, National Merit Corp. announced finalists who are receiving awards funded by the organization itself. The final two rounds of winners, which are for those earning scholarships sponsored by specific colleges, will be announced May 29 and July 15.

Qualifying students were identified through exceptionally high scores on the PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. In addition to having a record of high academic performance, they were endorsed by their principal and earned high SAT scores confirming their earlier qualifying test performance.

National Merit Scholarship Corp. conducts the annual National Merit Scholarship and National Achievement Scholarship programs. Scholarships awarded through the programs are underwritten by business organizations and higher education institutions, as well as by the organization’s own funds.