Fulton County Schools
You are leaving the Fulton County Schools website. Please select continue to proceed to the requested page or you may close this window to stay on the current page.

ESEA FLEXIBILITY WAIVER - Flexible Learning Programs

The Georgia Department of Education (GADOE) submitted to the U.S. Department of Education (US ED) an application requesting waivers from ten Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) requirements and their associated, regulatory, administrative and reporting requirements.  On February 9, 2012, Georgia's Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) Flexibility Wavier was approved by the US ED. The waiver allows local educational agencies (LEAs) greater flexibility in designing a Flexible Learning Program (FLP) tailored to the needs of their schools.  The Flexible Learning Program (FLP) is an alternative supplemental academic intervention that allows local educational agencies (LEAs) flexibility in designing an extended learning program.

Beginning with the 2012-2013 school year, the GaDOE transitioned from Needs Improvement (NI) designations based on Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) reports to Reward, Priority, Focus, and Alert Schools designations based on the ESEA Flexibility Waiver formulas.  Title I schools will now implement specific programs and interventions based on Reward, Priority, Focus, and Alert Schools status.  Schools designated as Priority or Focus  will be required to develop and implement a FLP.  Priority Schools and Focus Schools will be identified and served with support interventions for 3 years.

For the 2014-2015 school year, Fulton County Schools – Title I Department will implement the Flexible Learning Program in the following Focus Schools in the Math content area: Bear Creek Middle School, Creekside High School, Esther Jackson Elementary School, High Point Elementary School, A. Phillip Randolph Elementary School, Renaissance Middle School, Ridgeview Middle School, Sandy Springs Middle School, S.L. Lewis Elementary School, and Tri-Cities High School.  Flexible Learning Programs (FLP) will be tailored to the needs of the academically at-risk students in a school in order to provide assistance for students to achieve proficiency in relation to the state academic content standards.  Flexible Learning Programs are not repetitive in the teaching strategies that are utilized with the students during regular instructional/classroom time.  Frank McClarin High School is a Priority School that is also identified as a SIG school, and thus, will not implement a FLP.  Fulton County Schools has two designated Alert Schools, Mary M. Bethune Elementary School and Harriet Tubman Elementary School.  These Alert Schools will not implement a FLP for the 2014-2015 school year.