Fulton County Schools
You are leaving the Fulton County Schools website. Please select continue to proceed to the requested page or you may close this window to stay on the current page.

National and State Assessments

Georgia Milestones Assessments

The Georgia Milestones Assessment System (Georgia Milestones) is a comprehensive summative assessment pro​gram spanning grades 3 through high school.  Georgia Milestones measures how well students have learned the knowledge and skills outlined in the state-adopted content standards in language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies.  Students in grades 3 through 8 will take an end-of-grade assessment in each content area, while high school students will take an end-of-course assessment for each of the eight courses designated by the State Board of Education.

Features the Georgia Milestone Assessment System include:

  • open-ended (constructed-response) items in language arts and mathematics (all grades and courses);
  • a writing component (in response to passages read by students) at every grade level and course within the language arts assessment;
  • norm-referenced items in all content areas and courses, to complement the criterion-referenced information and to provide a national comparison; and
  • transition to online administration over time, with online administration considered the primary mode of administration and paper-penc​il as back-up until the transition is complete.



Iowa Tests of Basic Skills (ITBS)

The Iowa Tests of Basic Skills are norm-referenced tests. Georgia law mandates that a nationally norm-referenced test, such as the ITBS, be administered annually to students in grades three, five, and eight. The purpose of a norm-referenced test is to obtain information about the performance of Georgia's students and compare it with that of students in a national sample. The results are used for evaluation, decision-making, and instructional improvement.

Understanding the scores

The scores are reported in percentiles and show how students compared with other students across the nation. For example, if a percentile score was 66, that school achieved a score that was as high as or higher than 66 percent of the other schools in the nation.



The SAT is an optional test given to measure reading, writing, and mathematical reasoning skills related to successful performance in college. The SAT previously tested students through verbal and math sections. The test was restructured in 2005 and now has three sections – math, critical reading, and writing. Each are scored within a range of 200-800 points, combining for a total of 2400 rather than 1600.

Understanding the scores

The new SAT has three sections – math, critical reading, and writing. Each are scored within a range of 200-800 points, combining for a total of 2400.

The Document Set Contents web part will display the contents of the Document Set in your Welcome Page.

expand Assessment : CRCT ‎(10)
expand Assessment : End of Course Test (EOCT) ‎(9)
expand Assessment : Georgia Milestones End of Course (EOC) ‎(3)
expand Assessment : Georgia Milestones End of Grade (EOG) ‎(1)
expand Assessment : Iowa Tests of Basic Skills (ITBS) ‎(11)
expand Assessment : SAT ‎(11)

​Contact Us

Assessment Department
(470) 254-1751